Wyoming is pretty off the map when it comes to marijuana laws. Not in the sense they’re more lenient, they’re just… lazy. A benefit of that is the lack of minimum mandatory sentencing. Whether your conviction results in jail time and how long that may be is entirely dependent upon the judge. The Equality State does offer a little protection for first time offenders under it’s conditional release – prison time can possibly be traded in for probation and it’ll stay off your criminal record.
Any Hope for Recreational or Medical Use?
Despite the efforts being made throughout the nation, in regards to medical marijuana and even recreational use, Wyoming doesn’t show any promise of changing attitudes towards marijuana anytime soon. Surveys reflect that while a large amount of residents approve of a medical marijuana bill being passed, recreational use is still an unpopular move. Maybe in a couple of years, when marijuana use becomes widely recognized and supported, Wyoming will get on board (even if it takes one foot at a time).
Fines & Jail Time
Unlike some states, Wyoming places “being under the influence” as one of it’s possession penalties. It could get you up to 90 days in jail with a small time fee of a hundred big ones. If you’re packing less than 3 ounces you could also get up to a year and $1k in fines. Anything above that and your possible jail time caps at five years and $10k in fines.
Wyoming must have a very strong belief in their D.A.R.E program seeing how the only additional troubles you’ll net from holding within 500 feet of a school is a mere $500 fine. Still – don’t bring your drugs around kids. That’s super uncool.
Any amount you try to sell or cultivate in your own home is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $10k fine, or six months and a $1k fine, respectively. Hash and concentrates are counted separately than marijuana and by a whole lot less. 0.3 grams or less of liquid is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail while anything above that jumps up to 5 years. Crystalline will get the same penalties for above/under three grams.
If you haven’t hit that awkward not-a-teen-really age of 19 and get yourself a conviction, kiss your driver’s license goodbye anywhere from 90 days to a year.
Paraphernalia is also “not cool” according to Wyoming law. If you get caught holding a nice glass piece, you could go to jail for up to 6 months and get a fine of up to $750. Seems a little excessive, if you ask us.
Wyoming has always seemed a little behind, very slow to get on board with important laws that could change the lives of people, especially those with debilitating conditions. While the state, whose motto is “Equal Rights,” many marijuana supporters might feel like this Old West state with Old Ideas is anything but equal.