Marijuana was legalized in Washington in 2012. This allows anyone over the age of 21 to carry one ounce. Initiative 502 allows licensed growers to cultivate but does not permit personal growing in one’s home except for medical use.
Possession of Marijuana in Washington
In Washington possession of 1 oz or less for private consumption carries no criminal penalty, no jail time and zero fees. Finally a state that “gets” it! The penalty is slightly different regarding 1 oz or less if consuming in public. This carries a small civil penalty, zero jail time and a whopping $100 fine.
If you cross over that 1 oz limit things change a bit. 1 oz to 40 g is a misdemeanor a 24 hour mms* up to 90 days and a $1,000 fine. More than 40 g is a felony, up to 5 years in prison and a max fine of $10,000.
*What is the MMS law in Washington? When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by the MMS, the judge MUST sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence. ! On top of this a person serving a mandatory minimum sentence is not eligible for parole. Ouch. So to put this into perspective, even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence. And don’t forget, there is no chance of parole.
Possession with the intent to distribute (any amount) is a felony, up to 5 years in jail and a max fine of $10,000.
Selling and Distributing Marijuana in Washington
Selling or distributing marijuana in Washington in any amount results in a felony, up to 5 years in prison and a max fine of $10,000. If you get caught selling to a minor who is at least 3 years younger it also results in a felony, up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Cultivating in Washington
In Washington the cultivation of marijuana in any amount results in a felony, up to 5 years in jail and a max fine of $10,000.
The possession of less than 40 g of hash or concentrates is a misdemeanor, 1 day in prison and a max fine of $250. Possession of more than 40 g is a felony, up to 5 years and a max fine of $10,000. If you are busted manufacturing, selling or delivering hash or concentrates it is also a felony, up to 5 years in prison and a max fine of $10,000.
Patients may possess hash and concentrates for medical uses. Qualified medical patients can possess an amount of hash or concentrates up to what could be produced from 24 ounces of marijuana.
Paraphernalia in Washington
The use, possession, delivery or possession of paraphernalia with the intent to deliver is a misdemeanor, a 24 hour mms up to 90 days and a $1,000 fine. To a minor who is at least 3 years younger is also a misdemeanor, up to 1 year in prison and a max fine of $50,000.
Knowingly maintaining a structure used for drug offenses results in a felony, up to 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
All states have a line in the sand that we don’t recommend crossing and Washington is no different. Where Washington rises above the crowd is in regards to possession. As mentioned prior, marijuana is legal both recreationally and medicinally. As long as you follow their rules, Washington is a great state for marijuana.