The Green Mountain State Is Pretty Green Friendly
In 2004, Vermont legalized medical marijuana. Yea, to Vermont! This is for medical use only. As of right now (early 2015) there is a bill being proposed to legalize cannabis in the state of Vermont. Once again, yea to Vermont!
Possession of Marijuana in Vermont
In Vermont, possession of 1 oz or less (first offense through the third offense is a civil violation, zero incarceration time and the fines range from $200 up to $500. Possession of 1 – 2 oz (first offense) is a misdemeanor, up to 6 months in prison and a max fine of $500. The second offense at the 1 – 2 oz level is a misdemeanor and up to 2 years in jail as well as a max fine of $2,000. Possession of 2 oz – 1lb is a felony, up to 3 years in jail and a max fine of $10,000. Anything above this and you are looking at a felony, jail times between 5 and 15 years and a fines ranging from $100, 00 to $500,000.
Selling and Distributing Marijuana in Vermont
If you are busted selling marijuana in Vermont and its less than ½ an ounce, it’s only a misdemeanor, up to 2 years in prison and a max fine of $10,000. That ½ ounce mark is definitely the line in the sand because it changes to a felony for anything over ½ ounces. ½ oz – 1lb is a felony, up to 5 years in jail and a max fine of $100,000. 1 to 50 lbs is a felony, up to 15 years in prison and a max fine of $500,000. If you get caught selling more than 50lbs of marijuana in Vermont, you are looking at up to 30 years in the slammer and a max fine of $500,000. That’s not cheap and 30 years is a long time behind bars!
Hash and Concentrates
The penalties for possessing hash are relatively minor. If you are busted with 5 grams or less (first offense) it is a civil violation, zero jail time and a fine of $200. If it’s your second offense (and any subsequent offenses) and its 5 grams or less it’s still a civil violation, zero jail time and a max fine of $500. 5 grams or more (first offense) is a misdemeanor, up to 6 months in jail and a max fine of $500. Get busted with 5 grams or more the second time around (and any subsequent offenses) and it’s still a misdemeanor but jail time maxes out at 2 years and the fine increases to $2000.
Busted for more than 5 grams? The penalties for hash are very similar to the marijuana penalties so see above for that information.
Paraphernalia in Vermont
The possession of paraphernalia by a person who is 21 or older is a civil fine. There is no jail time and a $200 fine. The sale of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, 1 year in prison and a $1,000 fine. If you are busted selling to a minor, it’s a misdemeanor, 2 years in jail maximum and a max fine of $2,000.
Vermont is a pretty MJ friendly state for the most part. Although it’s not recreational (yet), the penalties are pretty slim especially if you keep amounts under 1 oz in regards to possession and use. We don’t recommend selling illegally in any state and even in Vermont you may be facing jail time if you get busted selling any amount.