Utah is not MJ friendly as their tolerance for possession is quite low and along with that comes incarceration time. Let’s dig in a bit to understand the details.
Possession of Marijuana in Utah
In Utah, possession of less than 1 oz is a misdemeanor, up to 6 months in jail and a $1000 fine. This basically means if you are busted for any amount of marijuana in Utah you run the risk of wasting 6 months of your life behind bars. So this alone tells us that Utah is definitely not a marijuana friendly state. Possessing 1 oz – 1lb is also a misdemeanor but the fine increases to a max of $2500 and jail time increases to a maximum of 1 year. If you are busted in Utah with 1 – 100lbs, now you have yourself a felony, up to 5 years in jail and a max fine of $5000. For the big players who step over that line in Utah, anything over 100lbs is a felony, 1 to 15 years in jail and a max fine of $10,000. In Utah they aren’t big on large fines, but they will throw you in jail for minor possession.
Selling and Distributing Marijuana in Utah
This is going to be short and sweet because Utah spells it out very clearly here. If you are busted for the sale of marijuana in Utah (any amount), it’s a felony, up to 5 years in jail and a max fine of $5000. Of course they also have the “in the presence of a minor or within 1000ft of a school or designated public area” rule as well. This means all penalties in those areas are subject to increased penalties.
Hash and Concentrates
Keeping it very “Utah,” the rules and regulations are pretty simple for hash and concentrates. Ready? The penalties for hash/concentrates are the same as for marijuana. Big surprise there! So, see above for details but this means any possession if busted is punishable by up to 6 months in jail. I doubt they dole out the max sentence very often but this is where a good lawyer comes into play!
The possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, up to 6 months in jail and a max fine of $1000. The sale of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor and punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a max fine of $2500. The line in the sand you definitely do not want to cross is selling paraphernalia to a minor. This is a felony in Utah that carries with it a max incarceration time of up to 5 years in jail and a max fine of $5000.
Wrapping Utah Up
There isn’t much to say about Utah really. They keep things short and sweet. The rules are clearly defined and there aren’t really too many of them. Basically, if you get busted in Utah for any possession of any amount you are looking at up to 6 months in jail. The fines are pretty minimal but jail doesn’t sound like too much fun to us. Utah is not a state we would test our luck in when it comes to marijuana.