The Volunteer State Is Not Marijuana Friendly
For many people, Tennessee represents the “Birthplace of Cool”. Any musician or music aficionado will agree that cities like Nashville and Memphis were integral is popularizing the music we love today. Unfortunately, the “Birth of Blues” may be as cool as this state will get in a long time. When it comes to marijuana, Tennessee seems like it doesn’t want to let loose.
Not Even Medical Marijuana?
Currently, widespread medical marijuana use throughout Tennessee is unlawful, but Cannabidiol (CBD) oil is allowed only for patients who medically qualify. The qualifications for CBD use only apply to individuals who suffer from intractable seizures (or seizures that do not respond to anti-seizure medications). CBD is a cannabis strain that has medical effects, but doesn’t have the same effects of THC, which means individuals won’t get “high”. Tennessee patients are allowed to use CBD oil which contains less than 0.9 percent of THC.
Although this seems to be light years away from giving the “OK” to statewide medical marijuana use, it is an effort to decriminalize CBD oil for individuals who suffer from severe seizures. With a little patience, perhaps “The Volunteer State” will offer up a little more compassion when it comes to all individuals who suffer from debilitating medical conditions.
Fines & Jail Time
Perhaps the only good news for individuals potentially facing criminal charges related to marijuana is that Tennessee is not a MMS state, which means that offenders will not face a mandatory minimum sentence. The punishments related to marijuana possession, sale, or cultivation, however, leave little to be desired.
If you are caught possessing ½ oz or less you can face up to 1 year in jail and a fine of $250. If you are a second time offender of the same amount, the fine will double. A third and you could spend up to 6 years in jail and a fine of $1,000. Although we said that Tennessee is not a MMS state, the fines associated with possession are mandatory.
If you attempt to sell marijuana and are caught, be prepared for some no-nonsense sentencing. ½ oz to 10 lbs can result in up to 6 years of incarceration and a $5,000 fine. 10-70 lbs is up to 12 years and $5,000, 70-300 lbs results in up to 30 years and $200,000 and more than 300 lbs. is up to 60 years and half a million in fines. We think it’s safe to say that it’s totally not worth it.
If you choose to cultivate plants, less than 10 plants could result in up to 6 years of incarceration while more than 500 plants could result in up to 60 years. Any amount in between is similar to charges related to selling. Additionally, hash and concentrates have hefty consequences as does possessing or selling paraphernalia. And to top it off? If you are caught “falsifying” a drug test, you could go to jail for up to a year.
Although there’s a lot of cool stuff about the state of Tennessee, its attitudes about marijuana is totally square. Remember, if you are caught and convicted, the first offense may seem “doable”, but don’t continue to get caught. Tennessee will gladly charge you, over and over.
How Does Your State Compare to Tennessee?