Happy Beavers in Oregon!
Oregon, beautiful Oregon. Not only is this state beautiful both in terms of scenery and the Oregonians that live there, Oregon is also pretty lenient when it comes to the green plant. Oregon was the first U.S. state to decriminalize the possession of small amounts of cannabis and among the first to authorize its use for medical purposes. In fact, Oregon outpaces the U.S. by 38% in regards to usage statistics with 8.36% of people polled stating they use Cannabis in some form or another.
Decriminalization of recreational marijuana use
As of right now medical marijuana is allowed in Oregon and throughout the state there are plenty of dispensaries to choose from. On a greener note, with 56% of voters approving measure 91, recreational marijuana will be permitted as of July 1, 2015.
Under this new proposal adults are legally able to engage in the non-commercial cultivation of cannabis for personal use. What? Yep, that’s right, come July 1, 2015 adults will be allowed to possess up to four plants and eight usable ounces of marijuana at a given time. What else is pretty darn cool is that 0% of this product is subject to taxation or commercial regulation. Keep your mitts off my pot you darn government!
There are still laws and regulations to be aware of
On a more serious note there are still rules and regulations in Oregon so don’t get too excited and start packing your bags just yet. Possession of less than 1 ounce (keep in mind this is before it goes recreational on July 1, 2015) is a misdemeanor with a max fine of $650 and no jail time. 1 to 4 ounces is a misdemeanor with a max fine of $1000 and up to 6 months of jail time. 4 ounces or more you are looking at a felony, a max fine of $375,000 (yep, you read that right) and 10 years in the slammer. Ouch!
The sale and distribution is frowned upon as well. Less than 5 grams without compensation is a possible max fine up to $1000 and a misdemeanor. Not a big deal really. Less than 5 grams with compensation ups the ante a bit to a max fine of $1250, a misdemeanor and up to 30 days in the slammer. Time to meet Bubba your new roommate! 5 grams to 1 ounce without compensation is a max fine of $6,250, a felony and up to 1 year in prison. You and Bubba are now pretty good friends. 1 ounce or more without compensation carries a max fine of $125,000, a felony and up to 5 years in prison. Obviously I could go on and on but I think you are seeing some lines that you should not cross. Hint, when you see fines go from a few thousand to over six figures THAT is a line that you don’t want to cross. Hash and concentrates are generally treated equally under the law.
Liberal enforcement of marijuana laws, but laws none-the-less
Oregon for the most part seems to turn its head on most things marijuana related. With it being a legal medicinal state and plenty of people using and growing for the medical side law enforcement seems to have better things to do than busting people for petty marijuana use. This of course doesn’t mean you are in the clear because we both know that if you piss a cop off they are going to go for the throat when it comes to maximum sentence. Luckily in Oregon if you hire a good lawyer your sentence will more than likely be severely reduced.
How Does Your State Compare to Oregon?