Let’s get this straight, Okies are going to get the shaft in their fine state and there isn’t really much they can do about it.
If it’s in your blood, you’re busted!
Things get dirty pretty quickly in Oklahoma and it all starts with this, DUI penalties. In Oklahoma a person will be jailed for no less than 30 days or more than a year if: they have any amount of marijuana in their blood, saliva, urine or other bodily fluid at the time of the test. Get busted again for this same crime and you have earned yourself a an interlock device that can only detect alcohol even if you are not a user of alcohol. Archaic and ridiculous? Indeed! Also anyone with half a brain knows that marijuana can stay in a persons system for quite some time after smoking. This means if you smoke pot and it’s in your system weeks later and you test positive for it, you my friend are going to jail!
This should be enough information to know that Oklahoma is not marijuana friendly (i.e you better lawyer up!) but why stop here when there is so much more fun to be had.
Contraband – illegal. Tax stamp – mandatory
In Oklahoma, your contraband (re: mary jane, the hash, good old smokey) must have a tax stamp. Your stuff isn’t legal mind you, but for some ridiculous tap-dancing reason you must buy a tax stamp (that costs $3.50 per gram) and the penalty for not buying a stamp is 200% of that tax. Oklahoma doesn’t give a damn, my dear, about how much you’re holding. The penalty for whatever amount on you is not clearly defined, but you could get up to a year of jail time for it on your first offense. Subsequent offenses are not subject to fines, but you could get anywhere from 2 to 10 years of jail time.
If you’re a first time offender and qualify for their conditional release (trading in a trial for probation) you could eliminate your jail time and criminal record, but I wouldn’t place money on that.
Sales and distribution
Sale or distribution of marijuana is where things get particularly hairy. You could get up to two years or life in prison. I am not a gambling man but it doesn’t take a genius to look at that and figure out those aren’t good odds. If you sell to a minor or within 2,000 feet of a school, public park, or public housing it’s double any jail time you would have originally served and *ding* *ding* *ding* you’ve just activated Oklahoma’s trap card – minimum mandatory sentencing laws. You’re now automatically entered to be punished for 50% of the imposed sentence.
Oh, and any conviction in OK will result in a driver’s license suspension, anywhere from six months to three years.
To grow or not to grow?
Cultivation nets the same penalties as marijuana, while hash and concentrates will get you a bigger fine. If you convert marijuana into hashish, the penalty is anywhere from two years to life in prison with a hefty $50k price tag.
Again, don’t forget to purchase those very legal tax stamps for your very illegal stash. Taxation without representation at its finest.