Don’t Get Stuck Selling In The Tar Heel State
The Tar Heel State has decriminalized marijuana at levels of 1/2 ounces or less. This amount is solely a misdemeanor, no jail time and a max fine up to $200. Hooray for North Carolina!
North Carolina is even pretty sane about possession of .5 to 1.5 ounces of marijuana. This is a misdemeanor and jail time of up to 45 days max with a fine of up to $1000. Possession of 1.5 ounces up to 10lbs is a felony and max imprisonment time of 8 months with a fine up to $1000.
With Intent to Distribute
Possession with the intent to distribute less than 10lbs is a felony 4 to 8 months in prison and a max fine of $1,000. Please keep in mind possession and possession with the intent to distribute are two different things. Going forward these laws are for “possession with the intent to distribute.” If you step up your game and take it over the 10lb line, anything from 10 – 50lbs is a felony a MMS of 2 years up to 2.5 and a max fine of $5,000.
What is the MMS law in North Carolina? When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by the MMS, the judge MUST sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence. On top of this a person serving a mandatory minimum sentence is not eligible for parole. To put this into perspective, even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence. And don’t forget, there is no chance of parole.
50 – 2000lbs is a felony, an mms of 3 years up to 3.5 and a max fine of up to $25,000. 2000lbs up to 10,000lbs is a felony, an mms of 6 years up to 7 and a max fine of $50,000. 10,000lbs to infinity is a felony, an mms of 14.5 years up to 18 and a max fine of up to $200,000. Honestly, compared to other states North Carolina is pretty “lax” when it comes to prosecution of large amounts.
Don’t forget the minor and school rules. If you get busted selling to a minor or pregnant woman (what?) it’s a felony 3 to 8 years in the slammer and no fine. If you get caught within 1000 feet of a school, child care center or park grounds it’s also a felony, 1 to 3 years in prison and no fine.
Cultivation of Marijuana in North Carolina
North Carolina frowns on the cultivation of marijuana so we recommend not even testing the waters there. If you are busted with less than 10lbs it is a felony and a 3 – 8 month jail sentence with a max fine of $1,000. Anything over 10lbs and the mms laws kick in which means mandatory minimum jail time! 10 to 50lbs is a felony, an mms of 2 years up to 2.5 years and a max fine of $5,000. 50 to 2000lbs is a felony, an mms of 3 years up to 3.5 years and a max fine of $25,000. 2000 to 10,000lbs is a felony, an mms of 6 years up to 7 years and a max fine of $50,000. If you get busted with 10,000lbs or more, life will suck for you as you are now looking at a felony, an mms of 14.5 years up to 18 and a max fine of $200,000. Jail sucks, so our advice is don’t cultivate in North Carolina!
How North Carolina Deals with Hash and Concentrates
Surprisingly, hash and concentrates carry a relatively light sentence in North Carolina. Possession of less than .05oz is a misdemeanor, 1 to 10 days in jail and a fine of $200. Possession of .05oz to .15oz is a misdemeanor, 1 to 45 days in prison and a fine of $200. Possessing anything over .15oz is a felony, 4 to 6 months in jail and a max fine of $200.
Paraphernalia includes the possession, sale, use, delivery or manufacturing of and it’s a misdemeanor, 1 to 45 days in the slammer with a max fine of $1,000. If paraphernalia involves a minor who is at least 3 years younger than you, it’s a felony, 3 to 8 months in prison and a $0 fine.
When it comes to prosecution and marijuana laws, North Carolina is pretty lenient when compared to many states. There is an MMS in place in North Carolina which means you need to keep usage limits under that “line in the sand” if you want to sleep well at night.