New Mexico

Map of New Mexico Marijuana LawsThis Land Is Not That Enchanted

The Land of Enchantment has average marijuana laws, relative to many other states. This is a good thing as many states treat marijuana offenders as bad a murders! Bordering Colorado on the north, you would think a bit more legalization might have rubbed off on New Mexico.

Things will most likely change in the future, but for now, you still need to be cautious if you don’t want to end up on the wrong side of the law. With simple possession (for personal use) you still want to be careful regarding the quantity you’re holding. That said, don’t get caught here dealing or growing, the figures below will give you a good idea why.

Possession of one ounce or less (1st offense) is a misdemeanor, with up to 15 days in jail and a $100 fine. If a second offense those numbers increase to up to a year in jail and $1,000 fine, which is the same as a first offender if caught with one – eight ounces. Possession of more than 8 ounces is a felony that can put you in the slammer for 1.5 years and carries a $5,000 fine.

If you get caught dealing or growing in New Mexico and it’s a much bigger deal than many other states’ possession offences. You’ll be looking at a minimum of one and a half years in the slammer and up to 18 years if caught dealing marijuana in New Mexico. Here are some of the stats at a glance:

Felony OffensesNew Mexico Marijuana Laws Summary

  • Distribution or Intent to Distribute, any amount of marijuana, hash or concentrates
  • Cultivation – any amount
  • Sale of paraphernalia to a minor

Distribution or Intent to Distribute:

  • Less than 100 pounds (1st offense)    5 years
  • Less than 100 pounds (2nd offense)  3 years
  • More than 100 pounds (1st offense)  3 years
  • More than 100 pounds (2nd offense) 9 years
  • Within a drug-free school zone         18 years

Cultivation:

  • Any amount 9 years
  • Any amount (2nd offense) 18 years
  • Within a drug-free school zone 18 years

Fortunately New Mexico has not enacted the draconian mandatory minimum sentencing, which means that the judge has the ability to issue lower sentences, than the maximum ones listed here.

The Land of Enchantment does have active medical marijuana laws in place, which means if you’ve got a legal/ valid proscription for your marijuana medicine(s), you’re within the law.

How Does Your State Compare to New Mexico?

New Mexico Marijuana Laws Rating

Leave a Comment