In the Granite State, with a Motto of “Live Free or Die”, you might choose the latter, if caught with Marijuana in your possession. Even though New Hampshire legalized medical marijuana in 2013, New Hampshire definitely doesn’t mess around when it comes to marijuana laws outside of the medical realm.
Possession of Marijuana in New Hampshire
Possession of any amount of Marijuana is a misdemeanor, with up to a one year jail term and a $2,000 fine.
Sale or Possession with Intent to Sell
Selling, or caught in possession with the intent to sell, of less than one ounce, is a felony with up to a 3 year jail term, plus a $25,000 fine. At 1 ounce to 5lbs, you are looking at up to a 7 year term and $100,000 fine. 5lbs or more and your time in the slammer could be up to 20 years and a fine of $300,000!? If you’re caught selling within 1,000 feet of a school, you can double the above figures. If convicted of selling and you’re under 18 years of age, you will face a driver’s license suspension of 1 – 5 years and if under 21 years young, you could lose your license for up to a year.
Cultivation is treated in very similar fashion to possession and sale so see above for details.
Hash and Concentrates in New Hampshire
Possession of Hash and Concentrates under 5 grams is a misdemeanor, with a one year jail term and a $2,000 fine. Get caught with more than 5 grams and the fine jumps to $5,000. If caught manufacturing or selling (even intent to sell), less than 5 grams is a felony with a 3 year jail sentence, plus $25,000 fine. If 5 grams, up to 1 lb. you’re looking at 7 years and $100,000 and if more than 1 lb. – kick that time in the slammer up to 20 years!
Paraphernalia and Miscellaneous Suspensions
The sale or possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, with up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine.
Persons under 18 years of age will face a driver’s license suspension for 1 to 5 years. If you are under 21 years of age the suspension is for 90 days up to 1 year.
Although New Hampshire is friendly and forward thinking on the medical side of things, they definitely aren’t messing around when it comes to the illegal sale or possession of marijuana. New Hampshire is definitely a state we recommend staying out of when it comes to the recreational use of marijuana.