The Show Me State Will Show You A Very Hard Time
Ah, home of the riots. And you might want to when you find out they have a *mandatory minimum sentence that, in some cases, removes eligibility for parole or probation. The lowest offense on the list (and one of only two misdemeanors) is possessing less than 35 grams, and that’ll score you a year of jail time and a max fine of $1,000.
*What is the MMS law in Missouri? When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by the MMS, the judge MUST sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence! On top of this a person serving a mandatory minimum sentence is not eligible for parole. Ouch. So to put this into perspective, even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence. And don’t forget, there is no chance of parole.
Possession of more than 100 kg is a felony, 10 years to life in prison and who cares about the fine of $20,000 if you are never going to get out anyway.
Selling, Trafficking and Distributing
Selling less than 5 g is a felony, up to 7 years in prison and a max fine of $5,000. 5 g to – 30 kg is a felony and a max of 15 years in prison. Don’t forget about the fine of $20,000. You probably have money burning a hole in your pocket anyway, right?
If you’re caught trying to sell more than a 100 kilograms (that would be 3,527 ounces, don’t try this at home folks) the mandatory minimum you must serve is 10 years. The max? I’m glad you asked – it’s life. Life in prison with absolutely one-hundred percent no possibility of parole. You better hope the judge is in a good mood the day you go to trial.
In fact, four of Missouri’s marijuana-related penalties are punishable with a max sentence of life in prison. Those are not dice you want to roll. Once again, hiring a good lawyer is always worth it!
Cultivation in Missouri
Home growing isn’t a better option either. Missouri treats it the same as possession and intent to sell. Every plant you’ve so lovingly cared for will be weighed to determine your maximum offense. By now you have learned to not step over that 100 kg limit. That 10 year mms isn’t something anyone could ever look forward to.
The possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in prison with a max fine of $1,000. If you want a felony on your hands then go get yourself busted for the sale of paraphernalia as this is a felony, up to 5 years in prison and a max fine of $5,000.
The only approved condition for marijuana treatment in MO is intractable epilepsy, which is treated by cannabis extract. It’s only obtainable through state-licensed dispensaries. Other than this, Missouri is a state that we recommend you steer clear of when it comes to all forms of marijuana.