Is anyone up for a spelling challenge? M-I-S-S-I-S-S-I-P-P-I – That is how you spell Mississippi!
Not only is the spelling of the state cool but marijuana is decriminalized which is also very cool. What this means in Mississippi is if you are caught with 30g or less and it’s your first offense it is a fine of $250. Not so fast bucko! For this to solely be a fine of $250 you must show a valid proof of identity and sign a pledge to appear in court. If you follow these basic rules there is no arrest performed and a civil summons will be issued instead.
Possession of marijuana in Mississippi
On the second offense of 30g of less it’s a bit of a different story. The mandatory minimum sentence kicks in and you are looking at minimum of 5 days with a max of 60 days in prison. Don’t forget the fine as that is also $250. Yep, although marijuana has been decriminalized you are still going to jail if you possess small amounts in Mississippi. If it’s third offense at 30g or less the fine increases to $500 and the mms is 5 days up to 60.
What is the MMS law in Mississippi? When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by the MMS, the judge MUST sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence. ! On top of this a person serving a mandatory minimum sentence is not eligible for parole. Ouch. So to put this into perspective, even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence. And don’t forget, there is no chance of parole.
Enough talk about the small stuff, let’s get into the felonies! Unlike other states Mississippi really only tolerates very minimal amounts and then it starts dropping the hammer hard! 30 – 250g is a felony, up to 3 years behind bars and a max fine of up to $3,000. 250 – 500g is a felony, 2 year (mms) up to 8 years and a $50,000 fine. Why stop here, we are having so much fun aren’t we? 500g – 5kg is a felony, a 6 year mms up to 24 years and a $500,000 fine. Get busted in Mississippi possessing 5kg or more and you are slapped with a felony, a 10 year mms up to 30 years and a cool $1,000,000 fine.
An interesting side note is if marijuana is found in any part of your vehicle besides the trunk, you get a misdemeanor, up to 90 days in prison and a $1,000 fine.
The University of Mississippi has a small-scale, federally approved medicinal cannabis cultivation program although at this time cannabis is not legal for medicinal purposes in Mississippi. Medicinal cannabis in the hands of professors? Hmm, sounds like a good time to us!
Sale of marijuana in Mississippi
Mississippi doesn’t seem to be messing around when it comes to the sale of marijuana and they really enjoy handing out felonies. The sale of less than 1oz of cannabis is a felony, up to 3 years in jail and a max fine of $3,000. 1oz to 1kg is a felony, up to 20 years in prison and a max fine of up to $30,000. 1kg to 10lbs is a felony, up to 30 years in the slammer and a max fine of $1,000,000. And get this. If you are busted selling over 10lbs, you are looking at life in prison and a fine of $1,000.000. The line in the sand in Mississippi is “do not sell anything over 1oz!” Prison is not fun folks.
In regards to minors, schools and churches – if you are busted within 1500 feet of either of these it is a felony and it carries double incarceration and fines with it.
Cultivation of marijuana in Mississippi is treated the same as possession and sales.
Concentrates and Hashish
In regards to hash and concentrates, the possession of .1g or less is a misdemeanor or felony, 1 to 4 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Please read that again because it is not 1 gram it is .1 gram! Need we say more? The line in the sand is “do not get busted with hash or concentrates at all in Mississippi!”
Possession of .1g to 2g is a felony, a 2 year mms up to 8 years and a $50,000 fine. Things just get worse from here on out and the mms goes from 4 years up to a 10 year mms for possession of more than 30grams. The fine for over 30 grams is a cool $1,000,000.
Does anyone want to get into the trafficking business of hash and concentrates in Mississippi? We highly advise to think twice about that as it’s a 30 years mms and who cares about the fine of $1,000,000 because 30 years behind bars without a chance of parole sucks compared to the fine.
Any conviction of the above will results in a 6 month driver’s license suspension
Mississippi like all other states definitely has drawn their “line in the sand.” Anyone can see by reading the information above that Mississippi is not messing around when it comes to prosecution and allowable limits of marijuana. In fact the penalties become quite harsh very rapidly. Mississippi is definitely a state we recommend to “never get busted” in!