Minnesota might be colder than snot in the winter but it has some good things going for the state in terms of marijuana. Grab a cup of warm coffee or tea, your favorite blanket and let’s cuddle up for a while.
In Minnesota marijuana has been decriminalized. Look at the big brain on Minnesota! It’s nice to see another state with some common sense. Marijuana is also medicinally legal but not in the plant form. This is sort of weird but hey, that’s how it goes. Vapor, oil and pill form are the only forms allowed legally and that fall under the medicinal umbrella. Hey, don’t look at us, we didn’t make the rules!
In the fine state of Minnesota possession of 42.5 grams or less is a misdemeanor and a max fine of $200. This is approximately 1.5 ounces of the green for all you math wizzes out there. Also it’s nice to note there is a conditional discharge in place for first time offenders. In regards to possession of 42.5 to 10kg, it’s a felony, up to 5 years in jail and a max fine of $5,000. 10 – 50kg is also a felony, up to 20 years in the slammer and a max fine of $250,000. The more weight you have the worse things get. 50 – 100kg is a felony, up to 25 years in prison and a max fine of $500,000. Step over that magical 100kg limit and you also receive a felony, jail time up to 30 years and a max fine of up to $1,000,000.
Also interesting to note is anything over 1.4 grams of possession inside your vehicle (unless it’s in the trunk) you are looking at a misdemeanor, 90 days in jail and a wimpy fine of $1,000.
Cultivation laws are treated the same as possession in Minnesota. Also of interest is hash and concentrates are usually treated equally under the law.
Selling and Minnesota Law
The sale of less than 42.5g (again, 1.5 ounces) is treated the same as possession of under 42.5g. This is a misdemeanor and a max fine of $200. The conditional discharge is also in place here as well. Lucky you! 42.5 to 5kg is a felony, up to 5 years and a $10,000 fine. The sale of 5 to 25kg is a felony, up to 25 years in prison and a shiny new fine of up to $500,000. Get caught selling more than 50kg and it’s a felony, up to 30 years in prison and a $1,000,000 fine. Minnesota likes to set their fines high and they also frown upon importation of marijuana. If you are busted in Minnesota for importing 50kg or more , it’s a felony, up to 35 years in prison and a 1,250,000 fine.
Selling Marijuana to a Minor in Minnesota
“Just say no,” should be the mantra when dealing with minors and marijuana no matter what state you are in and Minnesota is no different. If you are caught selling to a minor (the amount is not specified so take that as ANY amount,) in Minnesota it’s a felony, punishable up to 20 years in prison and a max fine of $250,000. Do the same thing within a school zone and you have yourself a new felony, 15 years in prison and a $100,000 fine. Not really something you would want to take home to mom and brag about, is it? Btw, more than 25kg in a school zone is a felony, up to 30 years in prison and a $1,000,000 fine. Ouch!
The possession of paraphernalia is solely a misdemeanor and up to a $300 fine. Not really a big deal.
Minnesota definitely has its pluses and minuses and as long as you play by their rules and keep things within reason they seem to play pretty fair.