Sexy seafood, picturesque waterways and pot, Maine has it all! Medical marijuana was passed in 1999 with 62% of the populace voting in favor of the happy little plant. In 2009, cannabis was decriminalized which means possession of 2.5 ounces or less is a civil infraction. Wait, because things get even better! In late 2013 voters in Portland, Maine passed a bill which legalized the possession of 2.5 ounces within the city limits. Maine has it going on folks! Although not legal everywhere it seems like things are a bit more reasonable than most states here.
Have your prescription handy
Possession of a “usable amount” is not punishable IF you have proof of a physician’s recommendation. What they mean by “usable amount” I don’t quite know. Possession of less than 2.5 ounces is a civil violation and carries a max fine of up to $600. Possession of 2.5 – 8 ounces is a misdemeanor, a max penalty of up to 6 months in prison and a fine up to $1000. 8 ounces up to 1lb is a misdemeanor, up to 1 year in prison and a max fine of $2000. Things get a bit worse from here on out. 1 to 20lbs is a felony, up to 5 years in jail and up to a $5000 fine. More than 20lbs is a felony (of course), 10 years in the slammer and a nice fine of $20,000. The idea in Maine is to keep usage reasonable and things don’t get too ugly.
On the sale and distribution side less than 1lb is a misdemeanor, 1 year behind bars and a $2000 fine. 1 to 20lbs is a felony, 5 years in lock up and a $5,000 fine. 20lbs or more is also a felony, 10 years in a new home called prison and a fine of $20,000.
Don’t get busted selling to a minor or within 1000 feet of a school or school bus because that is also a felony, 5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine. I have no idea why anyone would sell to a minor anyway. They usually don’t have any money so take a pass on this one.
Grow strawberries instead!
On the farming and cultivation side 5 plants or less is a misdemeanor, 6 months in prison and up a $1,000 fine. 5 to 99 plants is also a misdemeanor but you are looking at 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Step up the game to 100 t0 499 plants is also a felony, 5 years in prison and $5,000 exiting your bank account or mattress. Whatever it is you may use. 500 plants or more is as bad as it gets in Maine. 500 or plants or more is a felony, 10 years in jail and a $20,000 fine. It could be much worse and we both know in other states it definitely is.
In regards to hash and concentrates they are in a league of their own. Marijuana in the Maine statue is explicitly written to not cover hashish or concentrates of marijuana. Hashish falls under the umbrella of the Maine Controlled Substances Schedule. Possession of hashish or concentrates is a Class D crime, 1 year in prison and up to a $2,000 fine. Trafficking of the same aforementioned products is a Class C crime, 5 years in jail and a $5,000 fine. Trafficking with a prior conviction or use of a minor to achieve it is a Class B crime, 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine. The moral of the story with hash and concentrates in Maine is the very opposite of the Nike slogan. Just don’t do it. By the way Class B is obviously worse than class D.
A side note to all of this is a driver’s restriction is imposed for aggravated furnishing of any amount of marijuana or hashish.
For Paraphernalia possession is a small fine of $300 and a civil violation. The sale of paraphernalia is a different story as it’s a misdemeanor and up to 6 months in prison. Sale to a minor of paraphernalia is a max of 1 year in jail and up to a $2,000 fine.
You may, in Portland
Although Maine isn’t perfect its marijuana laws are much more ‘lax’ than most states. Definitely a place to visit if you want to smoke and remember in Portland, Maine anything under 2.5 ounces is completely legal!