YEE HAW! Its derby time in the “Bluegrass State,” folks. Although marijuana isn’t legal (recreationally or medicinally,) when it comes down to smaller amounts Kentucky does seem to have “a lick-o-sense” in regards to prosecution.
Possession of less than 8 ounces is a misdemeanor and up to 45 days in jail with a max fine of $250. Even jockeys can afford this. For anything over 8 ounces it bumps you into the sale and trafficking category which we will outline below.
On the sales and trafficking side, less than 8 ounces (first offense) is a misdemeanor, 1 year in jail and a $500 fine. If it’s your second or subsequent offense and still less than 8 ounces you are now looking at a felony, 1 to 5 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. 8 ounces to 5lbs (first offense) is a felony, 1 to 5 years in a prison and a $10,000 fine. Subsequent offenses of the same bracket amount are also a felony but jail time increases to 5 – 10 years and the fine stays the same at $10,000. 5lbs or more (first offense) is a felony, 5 – 10 years and a shiny $10,000 fine. Subsequent offenses of the same bracket amount are also a felony but jail time increases to 10 – 20 years and the fine stays the same at $10,000.
Selling to minors is always a horrible idea and if it’s your first offense you are looking at a felony, 5 to 10 years in jail and a fine of $10,000. If you continue to sell to minors i.e. this is your second or subsequent offense it is also a felony but jail time is now 10 to 20 years and the fine stays the same at $10,000. Sales or trafficking within 1000 yards of a school or park is a felony, 1 to 5 years in the big pen and $10,000.
$10,000 is the prize for horse racing? Not quite …
If cultivating is your thing, less than 5 plants (first offense) is a misdemeanor, 1 year in prison and a $500 fine. Less than 5 plants and subsequent offenses is a felony 1 to 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine. Kentucky sure likes to keep their numbers straight across the board don’t they? Anyone seeing a repeat here? Hint, it’s the number $10,000 (must have something to do with horse racing).
In regards to hash and concentrates, they are treated the same as marijuana and the same rules apply.
Possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, up to 1 year in prison and a whopping $500 fine.
Keep it to a reasonable limit
It looks like the thing to do in Kentucky is A.) Never get busted B.) Keep amounts to a reasonable limit i.e. less than 8 ounces. Although we prefer legal, it’s nice to see a state that isn’t insane in regards to excessive punishment for reasonable amounts of marijuana.
Where to find a Marijuana Lawyer in Kentucky
If you will find yourself in the unhappy situation of being caught selling Marijuana in Kentucky, it would be a wise decision to call a Marijuana Lawyer. You have to be aware that the laws are different from state to state, and so is the MMS. To find a Marijuana Lawyer in Kentucky, check out our lawyers list.