Kansas

Map of Kansas Marijuana LawsDon’t Grow MJ In The SunFlower State!

With a movie like The Wizard of Oz originating from Kansas you would think that marijuana use wouldn’t be frowned upon.  Wouldn’t you?  Well you would be wrong toot!

Kansas is very similar to Iowa in regards to possession and a first offense, second offense type of ruling.   Any amount if it’s your first offense is a misdemeanor, up to 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine.  A second (and any subsequent) offense of any amount is a felony, a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 months (up to 3.5 years) and a $100,000 fine.  Yikes!  Kansas expects you to learn VERY quickly i.e. if you get caught once, don’t ever get caught again because it’s MMS for you my friend!

What is the MMS law in Kansas?

When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by the MMS, the judge MUST sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence.  On top of this a person serving a mandatory minimum sentence is not eligible for parole.  In you go, but getting out is much more difficult!  To put this into perspective, even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence.  And don’t forget, there is no chance of parole.

Kansas Marijuana Laws SummaryOn the sale and distribution side, selling of any amount is a felony, an mms of 1 year (up to 5) and a $300,000 fine.  If you are busted within 1000 feet of a school zone, it’s a felony, an mms of 4 years (up to 7) and a $300,000 fine.

To grow or not to grow?

Cultivation laws are just as archaic and not so user friendly.   If you are caught cultivating 5 plants or more it’s a felony, 12-17 years in prison and $0 fine.  Wow!  12 years in prison for 5 plants of marijuana? No wonder our jails are full here in the U.S.!

Hash and concentrates are pretty much handled the same as marijuana (see above) whereas paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, 1 year of good ole’ jail time and a fine of $2,500.

Although things in Kansas are rather harsh there is some change in the air.  In 2015 two bills were introduced (senate bill 284 and house bill 1487).  Summary is as follows: “An act enacting the cannabis compassion and care act; providing for the legal use of cannabis for certain debilitating medical conditions; providing for the registration and functions of compassion centers.”

Let’s hope those pass as Kansas seems to be stuck in the dark ages when it comes to the legality and prosecution of marijuana.

Hiring a Criminal Lawyer in Kansas

Inform yourself about the Marijuana law in your state and in Kansas. Laws are different from state to state. So you will have no excuse for not knowing this. If you were caught and in need of a Lawyer, you can consult our Lawyers list to find one in your area.

How Does Your State Compare to Kansas?

Kansas Marijuana Laws Rating

Consult with Barry!

Arrested for a drug crime? Have a loved one in prison? We will examine any drug case for mistakes. Let Barry testify for you and against the police. Cops always make mistakes. We free prisoners and defendants.

Sending

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?