It’s surprising how antsy a state of potato farmers can get over a stash of hash. Getting off with a misdemeanor in the ‘gem state’ is reason enough to be grateful – out of a possible 25 penalties, all but five are felonies.
Whether you intended to distribute is between you and the badge man, but the smallest amount you’ll get for holding is up to a year and $1,000 in fines. That’s with less than 3 oz, mind you, so maybe don’t take your lifetime supply out for a jog. Anything above 3 oz and you jump to five years and 10 grand in fines. Your particular flavor of contraband is irrelevant because hash and marijuana are, under the law, the same to Idahoans.
But hey, potatoes are soft on the inside. If you’re a first time offender who cooperates with officers and pleads guilty to a drug related offense, there’s a chance judgement will be withheld. For your trouble you’ll get 100 hours of community service. And for the love of munchies don’t get caught as a second time offender. By law, you are subject to twice the prison term and twice the fines.
Don’t forget the *mandatory minimum sentencing law either.
*What is the MMS law in Idaho? When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by the MMS, the judge MUST sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence! On top of this a person serving a mandatory minimum sentence is not eligible for parole. Ouch. So to put this into perspective, even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence. And don’t forget, there is no chance of parole.
In regards to possession and the intent to distribute, anything from 1lb on up or 25 plants or more and the MMS law kicks into effect. Depending on the severity of the crime, The MMS is anywhere from 1 to 5 years in prison with no chance of parole.
On the sale and delivery side as well as the cultivation side, the same holds true. Anything over 1 lb and 25 plants is a 1 to 5 year MMS. The obvious line in the sand is keeping it under these limits but even at the bare minimum you are looking at felonies, prison sentences up to 15 years (although not a MMS) and fines upwards of $50,000.
Hash and concentrates are treated the same as marijuana. Basically its a no go zone if you catch our drift.
Idaho even goes as far as busting you if you are high in public. Get caught being high in public and its a misdemeanor, up to 6 months in jail and a max fine of $1,000. Boo-hoo!
Idaho does potatoes right, we will give them that. When it comes to marijuana it’s a completely different scenario.
Fool Idaho once, good for you. Fool Idaho twice… well, you might want Barry on speed dial!
Call Barry or any other criminal lawyer in Idaho to defend you if you were caught. You can find them by searching our Lawyers directory in your area. Next time, do your homework: laws are different from state to state.