Map of Georgia Marijuana LawsThe Peach State Is Not That Peachy For MJ

At the time of writing this article, Georgia is the most recent state to initiate the legalization of medical marijuana which occurred on 3/27/15.

Once bill is put into action, it will make the use of cannabis oil for treatment of seizure disorders, cancer, Lou Gehrig’s disease, multiple sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, mitochondrial disease, Parkinson’s and sickle cell anemia legal. This will allow patients to use non-intoxicating oil derived from marijuana.  Think of Charlotte’s web type of oils as these are the types of medications that will be allowed.  Obviously patients must obtain a registration card from the state Department of Public Healthy to be fully compliant.  Georgia is the 12th U.S. State to approve the use of these types of oils.


Legalization of Medical Marijuana ≠ Tolerance for Recreational Marijuana Use

As with many other states, the legalization of marijuana use for medicinal purposes should not in any way be seen as a lessening of the sentencing or an increased tolerance for the recreational use of marijuana. In fact, some of the states with the harshest sentencing for the violation of marijuana laws are states that have legalized the medical use of marijuana, Georgia included.

Although Georgia does not practice the minimum mandatory sentence regulations, the consequences are still quite outlandish.

Let’s start off on a bright note.  First-time offenders may be eligible for a conditional discharge.  This basically means a dismissal may occur if certain conditions are met, such as a payment of a fine and community service.

Possession in Georgia Georgia Marijuana Laws Summary

Possession (personal use) of 1oz or less is a misdemeanor, a max jail sentencing of 1 year and a max fine of $1000.  If you step over that 1oz limit, it’s a felony, a max incarceration time of 1 – 10 years and $0 fine.

Possession with intent to distribute is a felony across the boards with jail times ranging from 1 to 40 years and fines maxing out at $1,000,000.  Ouch!  Good luck paying that back!

Sale and Delivery of Marijuana

The sale of 10lbs or less of the green stuff is a felony and anywhere from 1 to 10 years in prison.  If you step over the magic 10lb line mark fines, its felonies across the board and jail times range from 5 to 40 years with the max fine topping out at $1,000,000.

In Conclusion

Peachy, the state of Georgia just isn’t when it comes to marijuana.  We recommend going elsewhere unless you are really wanting to test your luck.

Hiring a Georgia Marijuana Lawyer

If you are considering hiring a lawyer in Georgia, do so, mainly in felony cases. It is also important to understand the differences between the law in your state and the law in Georgia. Offenses, penalties and MMS are different from state to state. If you are looking for a lawyer in Georgia, check out our lawyer directory to find a criminal lawyer in your vicinity.

How Does Your State Compare to Georgia?

Georgia Marijuana Laws Rating

Leave a Comment