The Proud Centennial State!
People have been flocking to Colorado for years to see the mountains, hit the slopes, and take in the culture. Since the legalization of marijuana, Colorado’s already booming tourism has hit an all-time high. The Centennial State is one of the few states to have recently given the “ok” to make marijuana legal for both recreational and medical use. Although Colorado has proven to be progressive and cool, you can still get into legal trouble if you use marijuana. So know the laws before you smoke up.
Medical & Recreational, Win Win
While more states are making medical marijuana use legal, the rest are slow to get on board with medical and recreational use. Thankfully, in Colorado, you don’t need to have a serious, debilitating illness to receive the benefits of marijuana.
As a result of research revealing the benefits of cannabis to treat serious illness, from cancer to glaucoma, people have been flocking to Colorado to become registered medical marijuana patients. If you or someone you love suffers from serious illness, learn more about medical marijuana registration here.
If you are seeking a recreational high, you can smoke or use hash and cannabis concentrates legally if you are at least 21 years old, just like the legal drinking age. And just like drinking legally, you still need to be smart.
Fines & Jail Time
While Colorado has the “If you’re 21 and up, enjoy!” attitude, you can still get in trouble if you’re being careless. For instance, if you are caught possessing more than 1 ounce, but less than 2, you can get a fine. Any more than 2 oz and you can prepare to spend a year or so in jail.
If you are caught partaking, 1-2 oz. in a public space, you can expect to spend a couple of weeks in jail. Probably not worth it, when you could hangout at home.
Thinking about selling or “sharing” your stash? Don’t. Selling or distributing any amount could get you jail time and fines. Up to 12 years of imprisonment and up to $500,000 in fines. Sell or distribute to a minor? You’re looking at the additional MMS of 4 years, so you could face up to almost two decades in the slammer.
MMS Law in Colorado
When someone is convicted of a punishable offense by the Mandatory Minimum Sentence (MMS), the judge has no choice but to sentence the defendant (yes, even the friendly and peaceful pot smokers) to the MMS. Individuals who serve a MMS are not eligible for parole.
Have a green thumb? Sure, you can cultivate a few plants as long as you’re 21 years old. Beware, don’t get out of hand. If you cultivate more than 6 plants, but less than 30, you’re looking at 2-6 years behind bars and up to a $500,000 fine.
The Bottom Line: If you are looking for a little bit of that “Rocky Mountain High” in the privacy of your own home, you’re in the clear. However, if you decide to get behind the wheel of your car when you’re buzzed you could be violating Colorado’s drugged driving laws. Just stay in and have a good time.
Hiring a Colorado Marijuana Lawyer
If you will find yourself in the unhappy situation of being caught possessing Marijuana, it would be a wise decision to call a Marijuana Lawyer in Colorado. You have to be aware that the laws are different from state to state, and so is the MMS. To find a Marijuana Lawyer in Colorado, check out our lawyers list.
How Does Your State Compare to Colorado?