While Arkansas’ marijuana laws may not be as harsh as its neighbors Oklahoma and Texas, two states infamous for their mind blowingly archaic minimum mandatory sentencing laws for marijuana offences, it’s not exactly a safe haven for those who are fond of the green leaf.
Starting off on a somewhat bright note, the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act was up for vote in the november 2012 elections. Although it did not pass (48.6% of voters in favor), activists plan to continue working to pass legislation. If it had passed, it would have been the first of its kind in the South.
Adult Marijuana Possession Considered To Be the Lowest Enforcement Priority – But Don’t Bet On This!
Arkansas fortunately does not utilize minimum mandatory sentencing laws for small possession offences, which is considered anything under four ounces, but getting caught still can land you in jail for up to one year and come with a fine of up to $2,500 – not exactly our idea of a good time. Possession offences of anything between four ounces and ten lbs. is a felony and can get you up to six years in the slammer and a $10,000 fine. For persons with two existing convictions for possession, a third offense or above is treated as a Felony. This carries with it a max jail sentence of 6 years and a $6,000 fine. The ray of hope? In the cities of Fayetville and Eureka Springs, citizens voted to make adult marijuana possession offenses the lowest law enforcement priority. Whether or not that is happening and how you want to interpret that is to be decided.
After the ten lbs. mark MMS kicks in at which point you are looking at anywhere from three to thirty years.
No Chance of Parole!
*What is the MMS law in Arkansas? When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by the MMS, the judge MUST sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence! On top of this a person serving a mandatory minimum sentence is not eligible for parole. Ouch. So to put this into perspective, even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence. And don’t forget, there is no chance of parole.
The 14 Grams Which Can Send You Behind Bars For 6 Years
When it comes to sales and delivery offenses MMS kicks in at four ounces, at which point you are going to sit a minimum of three and up to ten years in prison. It’s also important to note that while possessing any amount between 14 grams to 4 ounces may not come with a MMS, 14 grams, a mere half ounce, can still get you up to six years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
On the trafficking side of things Arkansas looks at 500lbs or more as the magic number that separates delivery from trafficking. At 500lbs or more, its a felony (but of course!), a 10 year mms up to 40 years and a $15,000 fine.
Hash and concentrates are treated very similar to marijuana so please look above or to the table for specifics.
Where to find a Marijuana Lawyer in Arkansas
In the event that you have drugs issues in Arkansas, no doubt you will require a Marijuana Lawyer. You ought to additionally be mindful of the particular laws in your state. The laws on Marijuana are different for every state, thus what is thought to be a crime in one state, may be considered a lawful offense in another. In the event that you require a Marijuana Lawyer in Arkansas, look at our legal advisor catalog to discover a medication attorney in your vicinity.